T-minus one week

AlternaTickers - Cool, free Web tickers

Well, to be honest, the countdown started a looooooooong time ago, its just recently that I started ticking off the days.

So, most of our friends and family probably know that Tim has signed a six year enlistment contract with the Air Force.  His contract is for Computer Systems Operations, which was his first choice of jobs.

Well, after a year of red tape, begging for waivers, a truckload of (probably silly) questions for our recruiter, having to endure a poorly timed surgery, and more false starts than I would like to acknowledge – We are finally approaching a date that actually looks like it might be serious for Tim to ship out to his Basic Training.

Of course, we won’t know that for sure until tomorrow morning. Tim is right now down at a fancy-shmancy hotel in Denver so that tomorrow  he can have his feet inspected at MEPS(I have to sit here and laugh at the fact that we’ve jumped through so many hoops the last few months for a silly little toe. Ah Murphy, I gotta give you credit for that lovely irony!)  I have to admit that I’ve been fighting a slight battle of nerves all day as it was this step back in February that set us back so far. But Tim has been as cool and suave about it as he can muster – I do admire him for it, though I don’t have any clue how he managed that.

I’ve been getting a lot of questions about how I am feeling about all of this, and as to be expected my feelings are very mixed. But long story short, I am excited for our new adventure – even with all of the growing pains I know we will have to endure. I am confident that we will get through this just fine, and that we will be stronger and better people for it.

What I do know, is that I am really proud of Tim.

 ROTC greens

And to make this post a little less than boring – here is a photo Marguerite sent me of Tim in his dress uniform back when he was in Army ROTC at K-State.

Leave a comment

Filed under Air Force, Basic Training and Tech School

Leave a Reply

